Train Advise Assist Command - North


TAAC-North focuses on training, advising and assisting (TAA) Afghan National Defense and Security Forces development in several key areas. The efforts taken by TAAC-North within the Resolute Support mission are part of the broader engagement of the international community in Afghanistan to ensure Afghanistan is never again a safe haven for terrorism. TAAC-North conducts the TAA mission with the 209th Afghan National Army Corps and the 217th (Pamir) Afghan National Army Corps (former 20th Division). Including TAA for the nine provincial police departments and other security forces.

Area of Responsibility

TAAC – North includes nine provinces: Badakhshan, Baghlan, Balkh, Faryab, Jowzjan, Kunduz, Samangan, Sar-e Pul and Takhar. The North region shares borders with Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Pakistan and China. Currently, approximately 2,000 Coalition Forces and 45,000 ANDSF Forces are operating in the area of responsibility (AOR) of TAAC-North. TAAC-North has a population of 6.7 million people and spans an area of 162,151 sq. kilometers.

Contributing Nations

Albania, Armenia, Austria, , Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, *Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Romania, Sweden, Turkey, United States of America 

Major Units Assigned
Multinational Advisory Group for ANA, ANP, AUP, ANCOP, ABP, OCC-R
Multinational Support Task Force (Force Protection, QRF, MP, Logistic, Support, etc.)
Air Wing Resolute Support (incl. CH-53 Aviation Squadron & RPA "Heron 1” ISR Detachment)
Multinational Role II+ Field Hospital
Regional Media Information Center

(*Turkey recognises the Republic of Macedonia with its constitutional name.)

     SitemapNATOFind us on ...

FacebookFacebook   TwitterTwitter     Instagram Instagram    YouTubeYouTube