The NATO-led Resolute Support Mission was launched on 1 January 2015 following the completion of the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) mission in Afghanistan. Resolute Support is a non-combat mission that provides training, advice and assistance to the Afghan National Defence and Security Forces (ANDSF).  At the NATO Summit in Warsaw in 2016, Heads of State and Government decided to sustain the Resolute Support Mission beyond 2016.


Some 16,000 personnel from NATO member states and partner countries are deployed in support of the Resolute Support Mission (RSM). The mission operates with one central hub (in Kabul/Bagram) and four spokes in Mazar-e Sharif, Herat, Kandahar and Laghman.

NATO-led Resolute Support Mission Key Functions include:
• Supporting planning, programming and budgeting;
• Assuring transparency, accountability and oversight;
• Supporting the adherence to the principles of rule of law and good governance;
• Supporting the establishment and sustainment of such processes as force generation, recruiting, training, managing and development of personnel.


Resolute Support Mission (RSM): Key Facts and Figures

Train, Advise and Assist

Upon transitioning to the Resolute Support mission, previous commands around the country were converted to Train, Advise, and Assist Commands (TAAC).

These commands operate in full partnership with the Government of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan conducting functionally-based security force assistance through train, advise and assist in order to enable credible, capable, increasingly sustainable.

Afghan National Defense and Security Forces capable of preventing terrorist safe havens.


Resolute Support Commanders
March 2016 to Present:   General John W. Nicholson
January 2015 to March 2016:   General John F. Campbell, USA (Transitioned ISAF to Resolute Support)

October 2017 to Present:      Lieutenant General Richard Cripwell, UK
February 2015 to October 2017:  Lieutenant General Rosario Castellano, ITA
April 2016 to February 2016:  Lieutenant General Sandy Storrie, UK 
July 2015 to April 2016:  Lieutenant General Tim Radford, UK
January 2015 to July 2015:  Lieutenant General Carsten Jacobson, DEU (transitioned ISAF to RS)

At the NATO Summit in Warsaw on July 8-9, 2016, Heads of State and Government decided to sustain the Resolute Support Mission beyond 2016, using a flexible, regional model which would continue to deliver training, advice and assistance to the Afghan security institutions, including the police, the air force, and special operations forces. They also committed to keeping the mission and its design under review.

Ahead of the meeting of NATO Leaders in Brussels on May 25, 2017, Allies and Resolute Support operational partners reaffirmed the decisions taken in Warsaw. They noted that the ANDSF are improving, whilst still requiring support; and they agreed to continue sustaining the Resolute Support Mission and to keep it under review.
At the meeting of Defence Ministers on November 9, 2017,  ministers from the 39 troop contributing nations to the NATO-led Resolute Support Mission addressed four key issues: the troop level of the mission, funding for the Afghan forces, progress on reforms and reconciliation, and continued engagement with Pakistan. Allies welcomed the United States briefing on the implications of the new South Asia Strategy on the mission.  NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg announced that the size of Resolute Support Mission would increase from around 13,000 to around 16,000 troops in 2018

ISAF Commanders
December 2001 to June 2002:        Major General John McColl, UK
June 2002 to February 2003:   Major General Hilmi Akin Zorlu, Turkey
February 2003 to August 2003:   Lieutenant General Van Heyst, Germany
August 2003 to February 2004:    Lieutenant General Goetz Gliemeroth, Germany
February 2004 to August 2004:   Lieutenant General Rick Hillier, Canada
August 2004 to February 2005:   General Jean-Louis Py, France
February 2005 to August 2005:   General Ethem Erdagi, Turkey
August 2005 to May 2006:   General Mauro del Vecchio, Italy
May 2006 to February 2007:   General David Richards, UK
February 2007 to June 2008:   General Dan K. McNeill, USA
June 2008 to June 2009:   General David D. McKiernan, USA
June 2009 to June 2010:   General Stanley A. McChrystal, USA
June 2010 to July 2010:   Lieutenant General Sir Nick Parker, UK (Interim Commander)
July 2010 to July 2011:   General David H. Petraeus, USA
July 2011 to February 2013:   General John R. Allen, USMC
February 2013 to August 2014:   General Joseph F. Dunford, USMC
August 2014 to January 2015:   General John F. Campbell, USA


     SitemapNATOFind us on ...

FacebookFacebook   TwitterTwitter     Instagram Instagram    YouTubeYouTube